Unearthed: Rhys Coventry


screen-shot-2016-11-11-at-10-48-21-amNAME:
RHYS COVENTRY

AGE: 16

LOCATION: FLEURIEU PENINSULA

ARTISTRY: SINGER/SONGWRITER

A singing, songwriting, guitar-playing, surfer and surf life saver with curly blond locks; it seems as though Rhys Coventry is the complete package. Annabel Bowles chats to this down to earth, raw talent about his budding career in music, what artists inspire him, and where he can be found performing this summer. 


A: When did your interest in music form?

R: I’ve always have had an interest in music since I was little. It definitely helped that my parents took me to many live shows at such a young age that made me learn to appreciate them so much more than the average 5 to 10 year old. I played drums from 6 to 8 years old, and then I started playing guitar at 9. Also I’ve always have had a passion for singing but I have only been taking it seriously for around a year and a half now.

“My type of music is a little bit of everything, but I believe the best way to describe my music is coastal folk or even indie”

A: When did you start performing publicly?

R: It’s only been a little less than a year that I have been performing publicly, and before that I always struggled to, especially in front of my parents. But I forced myself to do it more and more in front of my family, friends, and school and now, I’m quite comfortable in front of a crowd.

Press play▶️🎶 Cyclone by @stickyfingersband ☝🏼😊

A post shared by Rhys Coventry (@rhys__coventry) on

A: How would you describe your music?

R: My type of music is a little bit of everything, but I believe the best way to describe my music is coastal folk or even indie, which I believe just means individual, or just different.

A: Do you write any of your own songs?

R: I have probably been writing my own songs for about 2 to 3 years now, but every song early on was rubbish. Although recently I have been doing it more and more and hopefully in the near future, I could play a gig with entirely original music.

Screen Shot 2016-11-11 at 11.25.45 AM.pngscreen-shot-2016-11-11-at-11-23-41-amscreen-shot-2016-11-11-at-11-23-59-am

A: What instruments can you play?

R: I can play guitar, sing, a little bit of piano, harmonica, and drums (badly).

A: What music artists do you take inspiration from?

R: I have lots of different inspirations from different genres of music. My favourite ones would have too be Matt Corby, Ben Howard, John Butler, Ziggy Alberts, Nathan Hawes, Jack Johnson, and Kim Churchill to name a few.

A: So you met Nathan Hawes, how exciting! How did you score that?

R: Meeting Nathan Hawes was a great experience. It was just after his gig at The Jive earlier this year and he was doing a meet and greet with his fans and there was a huge line. I just decided to wait until no one was left and just walked up to him. He was happy to chat for at least 10 minutes about music, surfing and lots of other things. He was great and passed lots of knowledge on to me to help me become the best artist possible, and I enjoyed every moment of it!

▶️Press Play 🎶 Closer by @thechainsmokers – enjoy 😊🙈

A post shared by Rhys Coventry (@rhys__coventry) on

A: So you’ll be performing at Moana Surf Life Saving Club over this summer, can you tell us a little bit about that?

R: Along with my music, I have been a surf life saver at Moana Surf Life Saving Club since I was 8. And when they found out I was looking for somewhere to play a small gig for some experience, they jumped on the opportunity. At my fist gig, there ended up being 60 to 80 people there, all my family, friends, and people from the surf club. It was a really great experience for my first gig. After that night we organised to do more over the summer. So I’ll be playing Sunday afternoons, 1 till 5pm, on the 20th of November, 18th of December, 15th of January, and the 19th of February. I would love to see lots of people there. Also I’m playing a couple of Sunday afternoons at Ampika’s Kitchen on the esplanade of Pt Noarlunga in 2017.

“I have lots of different inspirations … my favourite ones would have too be Matt Corby, Ben Howard, John Butler, Ziggy Alberts, Nathan Hawes, Jack Johnson, and Kim Churchill to name a few.”

A: Where would you like your music career to be in ten years?

R: I would love to be able to do music as a job, being an artist, writing my own music. I’m not too fussed about being famous but I would be very happy to earn enough money to make a living, and travel while doing so.

screen-shot-2016-11-11-at-10-48-56-am

Rhys’ music style, which embodies earthy, humble and acoustic vibes, is very much ‘in’ right now and he has a voice that I could listen to for days on end. Alongside playing at Moana Surf Life Saving Club, he can be found busking at local farmers markets, so keep an eye on Rhys’ social accounts. It’s definitely worth the effort to go and see him perform this summer, his performances are free so jump in before he’s famous, I can assure you it’s not something you want to miss.

Facebook: Rhys Coventry Music

Instagram: @rhys__coventry

(All images are sourced from Rhys’ Instagram)
Leave a Reply

